Closed Thread
    EMT-P Firehouse.com Guest

Question How does Volunteer Fire Dept. Work?

I am a Paramedic. I am not fire fighter. I am moving to a city with a population of maybe 25,000. At first I didn't think I was allowed to be on a Volunteer dept without being a fire fighter also. Recently I was told that I could still volunteer as a paramedic.

My question is, how does this usually work? On my off days do I spend the night at the station. Or do I wear a beeper and get toned out that way. This may be different for different cities but I was just wondering. Thanks for your input.

Engine508 Firehouse.com Guest

Cool

Well..your right it is different in some places like my town for example..The first aid squad and fire department are 100% volunteer and We are free to be at the building as long as we want and whenever we want and we get paged out by Beeper's or AKA Pagers. When this happens we respond to the station from where ever we are. BUT..the first aid that I will be joining next month has this system which they call duty crew....Its kindof like a paid service but its volunteer 4 Members sleep at the building at night and we all have a special night Like say...I'm Mondays,My friend is tuesday...Etc..This is so we dont get 15 People rushing to a call at night.BUt if its anything big like a MVA or something where they need multiple rigs then they put in the General Alarm Which notifies everyone on the squad...The Fire Department Doesnt do this they just get toned out whenever there is an alarm and respond to the building. I hope I was helpful and Good Luck In your Volunteer Job. If you need to know anything else let me know and I'll be more than happy to help you out if I can.

------------------
    Andrew
    "You Go....We Go"
    "Emt's Don't Die They Stabalize" http://hometown.aol.com/engine058/1stpage.html

EMT832 Firehouse.com Guest

Talking